Breakfast Today: Health Nut Chia Seed Oatmeal

For the health nut in your life. Even if the health nut in your life just happens to be you…….

I guess the title for this post really should be breakfast yesterday, but I have a thing going now and I’m not stopping.

So yesterday’s breakfast was one of those ‘I slept in really late and now I’m starving and need something healthy and filling’ type of breakfast. So, I thought I’d make oatmeal with chia seeds for something different. I also wanted something nutty, so I pulled some almonds and coconut from the back of the pantry and added those in to. Then, I thought it needed something sweet, so when I had it in the bowl, I topped it with blueberries and honey. All good stuff.

First, heat coconut oil in a small sauce pan.

photo(24)

Meanwhile, chop your nuts. I used almonds and coconut, but use whatever you have.

photo 4(2)

I do a coarse chop, so I still get chunks.

photo 3(4)

Add to the coconut oil and toast till it’s, well, toasty!

photo 2(2)

Then add the water, salt, and chia seeds.

photo 1(5)

Bring it all to a gentle boil. By now it will look something like runny blue goo, but stick with me!

photo 4(3)

Add the oats and simmer till you like the consistency. The chia seeds will expand a lot, making it look like chia seeds with a little bit of oats.

photo 3(5)

It’s not very photogenic…

Then throw into a bowl or two and top with whatever toppings you like.

photo 2(3)

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 big teaspoon coconut oil

Whatever kind of nuts that you’d like

1 cup water

2 Tablespoons chia seeds

A pinch of salt

1/3 cup whole oats

Desired toppings: honey, fruit, maple syrup, peanut butter, more nuts, whatever you’d like

Heat coconut oil in a small sauce pan. Meanwhile, chop whatever nuts you want. Toast nuts in the coconut oil until they’re all toasty. Add water, salt, and chia seeds and bring to a boil. Once boiling, add oats and simmer till as thick as you like. Top with desired toppings and enjoy! Makes two regular servings or one huge serving

photo 3(4)

That one again? yeah, I really like that one. (;

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Today: Health Nut Chia Seed Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

