Keepin’ it Simple- Resolutions and Snow

Mildly interesting Bethy fact: before this year, I’ve never made any New Year’s resolutions. I don’t have anything against them, I just never got into them. But now, I think it would be beneficial for me to have a few goals. And I’m enlisting y’all to help hold me accountable because, of course, making something public makes it so much harder to just forget about it all half way through January.

I don’t have a lot, and I’ll probably be making more, but here are a few big ones:

Pirouettes my pirouettes are practically non-existent. I’d like to master at least a double on both sides.

Releves- For my non-dancer friends, a releve (pronounced reh-leh-vay, french for ‘raised up’) is basically standing up on your tippy-toes. Well, my releve is also pretty much non-existent, so I’ll work on strengthening my feet to get it higher.

Middle split- Last year, I got my splits on both sides (woot woot!), but my middle split still has a ways to go, so that’s a project…

Books- I’d like to read 63 books in 2017. Why 63, you ask? No idea. I’m weird like that.

Blog- My goal is to write 15 posts for you guys this year. I am fully aware that that’s only a little over one every month, but last year I only wrote six, so that alone would be a HUGE improvement.

That’s pretty much it… the big stuff, anyway. I’ll probably think of more soon, but I think it’s important to keep it real and not go crazy… keep it real, simple, and do-able.

img_0148

 

Also interesting how much of it is dance-related. I suppose dance is on my mind. Today there was going to be a dance recital, but because of snow, it has been postponed to tomorrow.

I’m in four dances. FOUR DANCES. NOT FREAKING OUT.

 

Yeah, you see why dance is kind of on my mind right now.

But, since that’s off for today, I’m just hangin’ around here taking pictures and chatting with you guys.

img_0126

Ya. I guess it’s pretty snowy.

fullsizerender-24fullsizerender-25

Muffin (AKA Skipper) enjoys it, anyway.

fullsizerender-26fullsizerender-27

(Yes, that is a Hess truck in the background. We’re keepin’ it real, remember?)

fullsizerender-28img_0128

And I enjoy tea in my Shakespeare insults mug, Ted Talks, and nice pens.

Does it drive anyone else crazy when you try to take a picture of a window or screen and you can see your reflection? So annoying. But I guess if I’m going to ‘keep it real’, that involves dealing with the weird reflection on the laptop screen.

All right. I’ll stop rambling now and leave you, friends. For now.

img_0142

img_0144

(… Le Muffin who would very much like to be let back in now, please.)

One thought on “Keepin’ it Simple- Resolutions and Snow

  1. haha! you told me!

    On Sat, Jan 7, 2017 at 2:40 PM, Everything Bethy wrote:

    > funnygirl78 posted: “Mildly interesting Bethy fact: before this year, I’ve > never made any New Year’s resolutions. I don’t have anything against them, > I just never got into them. But now, I think it would be beneficial for me > to have a few goals. And I’m enlisting y’all to hel” >

Leave a Reply

