Chicken Apple Squash Sausage (AIP)

mmmm, sausage. With apples, squash, onions….

IMG_4515

Oh, and there’s BACON.

I knew that would catch your attention.
I made a whole bunch of these and froze them for quick meals (after eating some, of course), and they are amazing!!!

So, step by step. I actually got whole chicken breasts and ground them in my awesome vitamix (yes, it is possible. Google it). Then I  chopped up my squash, apple, bacon, and onion. Thinking about it now, I guess I could have done those in the vitamix too… woops…

Chuck it all in a bowl with some spices. Mix it all up, then make them into patties or a loaf or whatever (the original made a loaf).

IMG_4514

I probably could have chopped the stuff up a bit better, it’s kinda chunky, but still good.

I baked them for about 10 to 15 minutes, or you could fry them in some coconut oil for a bit. I used to freeze sausages raw, but that takes longer to cook, and it’s easier just to reheat.

IMG_4516

There ya go! Yummy-ness in the form of a sausage patty.

IMG_4518

Notes and changes:

I made them into patties. Duh.

I added some mace, which is basically the AIP version of nutmeg, and I loved the depth that it added. Highly recommend it.

I used fresh onion instead of powder. Very good, but next time I’ll chop it finer.

Also, next time I’m going to chop everything finer, so there’s not these big chunks. Maybe I’ll even remember to use the blender (!).

I tripled the recipe. A good idea, as these freeze really well.

Also, if you make patties, line the baking sheets with parchment or aluminum foil or something, since the chicken doesn’t have a lot of fat, you’ll be left with a mess on the pan.

IMG_4517

Above all, these are delicious, and I’ll definitely make them again. The tripled recipe made something around 35 patties!
The recipe can be found on real food with dana.

Enjoy! (:

Leave a comment