The New Year (AKA Chicken Poo and Diet Changes)

Happy New Year!
I hope your holidays were awesome! Personally, my Christmas was great. Got to chill at home then go to our friends house for Christmas dinner. New Years Eve I spent running around town too see various performers. New Years day, on the other hand, a chicken pooped on my head. Sorry. TMI? That was an interesting way to bring in the new year, aye? I guess that means my year will be awesome, because nothing worse can happen to me all year.

Right???

Anyway, with the new year comes an interesting change for me. I’ve had eczema on my hands (as in, literally on my hands) for pretty much as long as I can remember. If your wondering what eczema is, I was lazy and just looked up the definition for you:

ec·ze·ma
ˈeɡzəmə,ˈeksəmə,iɡˈzēmə/
noun
noun: eczema
  1. a medical condition in which patches of skin become rough and inflamed, with blisters that cause itching and bleeding, sometimes resulting from a reaction to irritation (eczematous dermatitis) but more typically having no obvious external cause.
    (Thanks Google).

There ya go.
BUT, there are studies that show and people who believe that eczema is not a skin deep problem, but directly related to the gut. Or, to be exact, a leaky gut or autoimmune disease.
To heal it, supposedly you have to cut out all potentially inflammatory foods, including (if I’m remembering everything):

Nightshades
Nuts
Seeds
Beans
Grains
Eggs
Dairy
Alcohol
Non-nutritive sweeteners
Yucky additives and stuff

I’m also going to be limiting all kinds of sugar, including fruit sugar.
Along with cutting out all of those foods, I’m going to be trying to eat a lot of vegetables, bone broth, fish, organ meat, good fats, and fermented foods. I’m also going to be taking fermented cod liver oil.
So, yeah. I’m basically going on a restrictive diet/meal plan thingy to try to heal my eczema. And I’m actually pretty excited about it.
I’ll keep you guys updated on this (with recipes!) and I will definitely let you know if this works for me.

(I pretty much stole all this info from The Paleo Mom, and you can find a lot more detailed information there.)

Have you ever dealt with eczema? Have you ever gone a restrictive meal plan to heal yourself from something? Has a chicken ever pooped on you? Leave a comment and tell me about it!

One thought on “The New Year (AKA Chicken Poo and Diet Changes)

Leave a comment